25 before 25.

Today is my 24th birthday. And as with all birthdays and the weeks leading up to it, I’ve found myself wavering between completely forgetting that I’m turning another year older and panicking because another year of my life is behind me.

Making this list turned out to be a little harder than I expected – honestly, how many crazy, life-changing experiences can I really expect to have in the next year? (Especially considering how many crazy life changing things I have done in the year that just passed me). I have to save some things for the years that come after, right? I found myself including things that I think will make me a better person and challenge me in new ways.

So, without further ado:

25 things to do before I turn 25.

  1. Run a half marathon. I consider myself a non-runner, and I really do dislike it, but I think that a half marathon is a manageable distance. People have achieved it before and there is no reason why I can’t as well. It’s only running one mile 13 times (or 21.0975 kilometres, but who is counting). Maybe the Oxford Half? http://oxfordhalf.co.uk/ (I am also going to do Run Jericho http://www.runjericho.com in June – a 10km to build up my running resistance – here goes nothing I guess).
  2. Step out of my comfort zone and try something I would never considered before (Really, this could be the half marathon thing haha). At least one time during this next year I want to do something that I never would have done previously. Take a plunge and do something that I wouldn’t ordinarily do. I’m not sure what it will be yet, but when the time comes, I hope I rise to the challenge.
  3. Learn how to properly use InDesign (or a program that you’ve been meaning to learn). Forever on my to-do list. It’s time.
  4. Grow a proper windowsill garden – or just grow something! I had a healthy veggie garden back at home in Australia, but it’s time to step up my game and figure out what other plants I can grow inside (that will survive/thrive in the UK). Bonus points if you grow an actual garden!
  5. Jump out of a plane. This one will be a little bit easier to achieve, when I travel back to Australia in September to visit everyone, Alan and I will be jumping out of a plane on his 30th birthday!
  6. Publish some of my writing. Now I want to do this – in an actual magazine or newspaper that I can send to my mum and dad. So any publishers out there reading my blog (because it’s so fantastic) let me know if you would like me to write anything for you (or, you know, just publish my clearly awesome poems).
  7. Continue the healthy lifestyle. So this is a bit of a cop out one I guess. I know that I’ll never have a six-pack and I have made peace with that. But, I want to make a pledge to continue to eat/drink/live healthy – up until – and after I am 25. Something that I have realised is that making healthy choices is all about the people that you are around – so shout outs to my newly full vegetarian – marathon training boyfriend – keeping each other on track healthy eating/lifestyle wise is just one of the things about our relationship that I am thankful for.
  8. Have more fun. As Jim Morrison once wrote, “No one gets out of here alive.” Make a list of ways to have fun (think of things that are fun for you) and make sure that you incorporate as many items on that list as you can into the next year of your life.
  9. Suck it up and buy yourself a MacBook. Or just a proper laptop. Gone are the student days and seriously, you owe it to yourself to have the proper tools to work with for writing/life admin etc.
  10. Get back into performing. I want to make a conscious effort to perform at local open mic nights, whether it be slam poetry or acoustic guitar playing and singing, I think that at least doing this twice in the next year seems like a reasonable and realistic goal to set.
  11. Learn to say ‘no’ — to yourself. Don’t keep wearing high heels if you hate them; don’t keep smoking or drinking if you’re disgusted by the way you smell the morning after; stop wasting entire days on your couch if you’re going to complain about missing the sun.
  12. Paint. Even if they are crap, just paint. Draw. Create. If you paint something really good, submit it to a gallery or try to sell it. Make time for art, it is such an important part of life that is usually the first thing to be cut out when you are too busy (along with my next point..).
  13. Make the time to read all the books on your shelf. Create a book reading schedule and try to stick to it. Reading puts the whole world in the palm of your hands.
  14. Learn to “Be”. The Italians have a great word; “Asolare“. It means spending time in a meaningless but delightful way. Learn to just be, rather than always doing.
  15. Go back and spend time at all the places you loved growing up and share what you love about them with someone else. This will inevitably happen when I will go back to Australia. Norton’s Basin, Bent’s Basin, all of the walking trails near my house, being out in nature. Apologies in advance to my boyfriend who is the lucky person that will inevitably be shown all these places.
  16. Change your hair dramatically. I haven’t done it in a while, so maybe before I turn 25 – there should be a drastic change in order?
  17. Buy a bike. I’m going to level here: I *hate* riding bikes. Not really sure why, just ever since I was a kid, it was never my preferred method of transportation. So it’s in my list; I live in Oxford, basically the bike riding capital of the world – this year I am going to suck it up and buy a bike.
  18. Go skiing/snowboarding. I have never been. Always wanted to go. May as well while I live in Europe I guess.
  19. Find a place and go horseback riding. Similar to skiing/snowboarding. Never done it, always wanted to. Would also be quite cool to do somewhere in Europe.
  20. Keep doing nice random things for people, without the expectation of getting something in return. Sending a card to an old friend, a bunch of flowers, just to let someone know that they are thought about is a gesture that will never get old in my opinion – it really is the little things that count.
  21. Fly in a hot air balloon. The view of the world as you float away in a hot-air balloon would be absolutely spectacular. Its super expensive, but something that I want to do (probably in Oxford).
  22. See the Northern Lights. A natural phenomenon, the northern lights is a magnificent sight to behold, which is why people from all around the world travel great distances just for a chance to witness this phenomenon. My 25 things list is getting more and more expensive as it goes on. Haha.
  23. Volunteer at a hospice or nursing home. A hospice is a place of care for the terminally ill, in their final months/week. While I can’t do anything about the patients’ condition, what I can do is to provide emotional support to them in their last days. I think it would be a really rewarding thing to do – though emotionally exhausting.
  24. Organise a big picnic in the summer (either in Oxford or Aus). Having a picnic is a great way to enjoy the outdoors with loved ones! From the park, to a garden, to beside a lake, to anywhere in nature, these are great places to have a picnic.
  25. Try every single day to change the world (probably a big ask, I know). Regardless of race, nationality, religion, or social status, we all live in the same place — Planet Earth. The world that we live in is not perfect. Poverty, pollution, conflict plague our society. Solving these problems by changing the world is no easy task but I don’t think I should be discouraged. Everything starts from simple ideas. If I can also find other people that will support your causes and ideas, who knows? We all have the potential to be the people who can revolutionise the world and make a mark in history.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

