I can do this.

I can do this. I’m totally smart enough to do this. It’s so easy to give up when things get hard, throw your hands up and just walk away and quit, but what makes us better people is our ability to do the things that we never thought we could do.
I could have quite easily just quit this afternoon. I had a meltdown at about 3pm. My work was getting nowhere. I felt like I had no idea what I was doing (sometimes this is actually true). I was like nope. Too hard. But then I changed my mindset. Instead of thinking that I couldn’t do this, that I wasn’t smart enough, wasn’t good enough, I wasn’t going to get it done, I told myself that I could do it.
Granted, I still have a long way to go and my report is due on Tuesday, I’m about five slides in (of around 50 or so), so my work will be cut out for me (plus I think I am experiencing my first cold in England, half the office is sick, it was bound to happen). So all I want to do is sleep. It’s easy to give up when things get tough. I think that in tough situations we find out so much about ourselves.
So this is a short post, I need to sleep and pray to whatever cold and flu gods that when I wake up tomorrow morning I feel better and can smash out the rest of this report before the weekend (at least the quantitative and some of the qualitative research). Fingers crossed.
I think this is a fitting way to finish off this post. This is a quote from Calvin Coolidge, talking about persistence. It also takes pride of place on the acknowledgements page of my thesis I finished last year. I think that it reminds us that persistence is always the key and to never give up, because nothing was ever accomplished by just wishing for it to happen.

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not: nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not: the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.” – Calvin Coolidge

One thought on “I can do this.

  1. Jess you have so got this SPSS is a hard task master – messes with us all! So sleep tonight, drink plenty of fluids and you will feel much better in morning. I’ll try skyping you tonight. G

Leave a Reply

